JAMESTOWN CITY COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING, JUNE 28, 2016 OFFICIAL MINUTES

Assistant City Attorney Geroux administered the oath of office to elected Council Members Dan Buchanan, Steve Brubakken, and Pam Phillips.

The organizational meeting of the City Council was called to order by Mayor Andersen.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was recited.

Roll Call showed the following members present: Mayor Andersen, Council Members Buchanan, Brubakken, Gumke and Phillips, Assistant City Attorney Geroux and City Administrator Fuchs.

Council Member Phillips nominated Council Member Buchanan to serve as President of the Council. Seconded by Council Member Brubakken. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Mayor Andersen nominated Council Member Gumke to serve as Vice-President of the Council. Seconded by Council Member Brubakken. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Mayor Andersen moved to appoint Leo Ryan to serve as City Attorney and City Prosecutor for a two year term to expire June 2018. Seconded by Council Member Gumke. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Buchanan moved to appoint Kara Brinster and Abbagail Geroux to serve as Assistant City Attorneys/Assistant City Prosecutors for two year terms to expire June 2018. Seconded by Council Member Phillips. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Buchanan moved to appoint Tonya Duffy and Travis Peterson to serve as Special City Prosecutors for two year terms to expire June 2018. Seconded by Council Member Gumke. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Brubakken moved to appoint Katie Andersen to serve on the Jamestown/Stutsman Development Corporation Board for a two year term to expire June 2018. Seconded by Council Member Gumke. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Brubakken moved to appoint Katie Andersen to serve as a City Council representative on the County Zoning Board for a four year term to expire June 2020. Seconded by Council Member Gumke. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Council Member Gumke moved to appoint Council Member Phillips to serve as a City Council representative on the County Weed Board to fill the unexpired term of Charlie Kourajian--December 2016. Seconded by Council Member Brubakken. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Mayor Andersen moved to appoint Council Member Buchanan to serve as a member on the Shade Tree Committee for a three year term to expire April 2019. Seconded by Council Member Gumke. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Mayor Andersen moved to appoint Council Member Phillips to serve as a member on the Storm Water Committee to fill the unexpired term of Charlie Kourajian—April 2017. Seconded by Council Member Gumke. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

Mayor Andersen made the following appointments of Committee Chairs:

Finance & Legal Committee and Personnel Committee (Mayor Andersen) Building, Zoning and Planning Committee (Council Member Gumke) Civic Center & Promotion Committee (Council Member Phillips) Police & Fire Committee (Council Member Buchanan) Public Works Committee (Council Member Brubakken)

Council Member Phillips moved to adjourn. Seconded by Council Member Gumke. Unanimous aye vote. Carried.

ATTEST: APPROVED:

<u>JEFF FUCHS</u>, <u>City Administrator</u>
<u>KATIE ANDERSEN</u>, <u>Mayor</u>